Use Case Spotlight: Making the Most of the Warrior Class

Casting_Spells2x
Illustration by James Danger

Which is the best Class? Well, the Habitica team might be biased, but we love all our children equally. Warrior, Rogue, Healer, Mage — they all have their own advantages, and the choice is down to what suits you best and what you find motivating. Do you want to do massive damage in Quests? Or are you more interested in hoarding all the Gold you possibly can?

To make your choice a little easier, this month’s Use Case Spotlight is going to highlight how other users get the most of the Warrior Class!

Monstershaped extols the virtues of the Warrior class, especially for those who love critical hits!

I’m a lvl 111 Warrior – used to be a Mage but found that as a Mage I was leveling a bit too quickly (and doing too much damage via skills) to keep things interesting for me. I really like the Warrior class because I’m in a solo party and gain a lot of motivation from the grinding necessary to complete quests, which the warrior class is great for! As a Warrior you can do enough damage per hit to see meaningful progress with bosses but not so much that you’re able to do a full quest in a single day, which was a big problem for me as a Mage – if I can decimate a boss in the first few hours of my daily routine there isn’t that feeling of down to the wire excitement that comes when you’re hoping that checking off your nightly dailies will be enough to let you start a new quest before you fall asleep! (I try to use brutal smash as sparingly as I can because as mentioned I’m all about that grind ❤ .) I’d strongly recommend classing into Warrior for people who struggle with habits in particularly – nothing sets up a positive behavior loop more for me than hitting the + on my daily habits and seeing a critical hit land – and the high STR means even if you don’t crit your habits are still really impactful – really really impactful if you’re using skills.

EvergreenCash has a plan for how to use the Warrior Class to deal big damage by maximizing both Strength and Intelligence to make the best use of a unique Warrior Skill:

I have split my stat points evenly between STR and INT and this seems to work well for dealing big damage and leveling up. Before my party grew to 7 members, we had two warriors and each of us could hit for 300 – 800 each day with Brutal Smash.

Rosemara elaborates a bit on how they use the Warrior skills to the best advantage:

Skills: I reserve Brutal Smash for boss fights or when I think a habit is about to change to a more positive color, e.g. from yellow to green. Based on the wiki, I’ve learned that Valorous Presence is useful even outside of boss fights because critical hits also increase the other items awarded. I use defensive stance on myself when I know I might have a less productive day, but don’t want to go into the inn. I have heard that Intimidating gaze is not as useful as the other spells because it doesn’t reduce boss damage, but I have cast it a couple of times if I suspect that my party is about to take damage from their missed dailies or bad habits.

This month’s focus was on Warriors, but if you’re still not sold on them, don’t worry! The next Use Case Spotlight will focus on another Class. If you’re interested in reading everyone’s tips and tricks, not just the edited highlights here, check out the Use Case Spotlights Guild! Don’t forget, if you chip in on the next discussion, you could find your own post highlighted in next month’s Spotlight!

2 thoughts on “Use Case Spotlight: Making the Most of the Warrior Class

  1. Pingback: Use Case Spotlight: Making the Most of the Rogue Class – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

  2. Pingback: Use Case Spotlight: Making the Most of the Mage Class – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

Leave a comment