Use Case Spotlight: Challenges


Illustration by gully

Each month, we try to highlight some user stories that might help you set up your own tasks or figure out new and more motivating ways of using Habitica! This month’s theme is Challenges: we asked users to tell us how they use Challenges to enhance their Habitica experience — and here’s what they shared!

Trangon talks about using Challenges to gamify the experience a bit more:

For me, discovering the Adventure Challenges from the D&D guild completely boosted my productivity and fun using Habitica, as my real-life tasks allowed me to attack goblins, cast powerful spells, dodge traps and level up my character. And because each day I required a different set of in-game skills, I also had to work on different aspects of my life that I tend to procrastinate more, like keeping in touch with friends and family or self-care. There is a lot that I would just not have achieved if it weren’t for these Challenges!

shanaqui talks about using Challenges to add some tasks they might not otherwise have done, or even thought of:

I have a lot of my routines set up elsewhere, e.g. my work routines and some more flexible goals, so my Habitica list was looking a little bare. I use the Bulletin Board group to find new challenges that just add a little extra something. I use @MaybeSteveRogers‘ Goblins Anonymous challenge to help give me specific tasks for cleaning the house, or I use pomodoro challenges in guilds I’m part of to add some motivation to a busy week. I like browsing the challenges and just jumping into a random one now and again, to add something different to my day!

SuperSaraA describes all the things that Challenges help her to achieve:

I really enjoy both participating in and creating and running challenges here in Habitica! I have enjoyed being in at least a few challenges each month (often five, six or sometimes more) because they encourage me to do things that I want to do more of (like hobbies such as reading and pixel art and self-care tasks like taking naps and being kind) and regular life tasks like chores (such as washing dishes) or healthy lifestyle tasks (like body care and exercise). I enjoy some challenges that have a theme that makes it gameafied (the tasks have a theme or tell a story so it is more fun to do them!) One example being the [Dolphin] Dishes challenge where participants are encouraged to “Feed the [Dolphin] each day by doing your dishes” washing dishes has never been so fun for me as now when I imagine the friendly dolphin happily eating the dishes as I wash them.

MaybeSteveRogers also finds a place to mention that creating Challenges can really help as well:

I’ve also found that creating challenges enhances my experience of Habitica a great deal. It’s honestly the best feeling to get the occasional message from someone saying how they benefited from a challenge I made, or how proud and happy they are to have won! To me, Habitica really reinforces how a “challenge” should be a way to motivate and lift each other up, not a battle.

We hope these ideas are useful for you in getting the best out of Habitica! Don’t forget, you can read other tips and ideas in the Use Case Spotlights Guild, or by digging through the backlist of Use Case Spotlight posts.

You can also participate in next month’s Use Case Spotlight, if you want! To do that, join the Guild and watch out for the prompt letting you know what this month’s theme is… and then let us know your thoughts!

Leave a comment