Use Case Spotlight: Health and Fitness

habiticans_eating_healthy_by_aries_faries
Illustration by Aries Faries

 

Happy New Year, Habiticans! January is a fantastic time for a fresh start and new takes on your tasks and goals. Here are some great tips, tricks, and ideas for using Habitica to set (and maintain!) new tasks and goals related to your Health and Fitness. These come from your fellow players in the Use Case Spotlights Guild!

Fishdye uses positive reinforcement:

Rather than having a daily for exercise, I created a positive habit for it called “Exercise . . . DOMINION!” and give myself one click for each 10-minute increment I do. I’ll also create specific To-Do’s for strenuous tasks, like shoveling snow from my driveway; then I’ll get to check off a to-do AND a click for each 10 minutes I spent. I find having an abundance of positive incentives very motivating!

pmcatnip offers a great way to reward yourself for walking:

I have a Habit for walking a mile and a Daily for going on a walk of any distance. That way I never feel like any walk is “too short.” By going on more walks, even short ones, I get more exercise overall and frequently decide to just keep going because I’m enjoying it.

rosedoesthings gives a tip for that all-important but oft-forgotten health staple: drinking more water!

I have a positive Habit for drinking 8 ounces of water. I like the specific quantity because I can feel better about drinking more water rather than just saying “Okay, I drank my glass for the day.”

BardoVelho’s party makes accountability fun:

…I’m running the drinking water challenge “Water:drop:Bending” inside my party, which is actually a bet: if a member skips the self-imposed water daily portion, has to pay a penalty of 100 GP, and the current water benders receive that GP (we do this by Fixing Character Values).

Drosera notes the importance of taking stock of how you’re doing with your health-related tasks:

…The +/- habits for things like “keep to diet” or “eat healthy food” or “went out to eat” helps me see the overall trend of my progress on trying to eat healthier. Which I realize is part of the point of a +/- habit, but for some reason that’s when the light bulb finally went off for me, when I started eating junk food again and saw that my habits had gotten quite a bit redder.

There were so many helpful and exciting tips we couldn’t feature them all here! You can see them all and join in the discussion in the Use Case Spotlights Guild– one of your ideas could be featured next month! Look for an announcement of next month’s theme from Bailey soon.

Also, if you missed it you may want to take a look at our most recent Guild Spotlight, which showcases groups dedicated to Self-Care and Wellness- another important aspect of your health. These Guilds can give you more ideas and some even have themed Challenges to help you unwind and de-stress!

Leave a comment