CONTRIBUTOR SPOTLIGHT: Blade!

Welcome to the Contributor Spotlight Series, where we interview amazing members of the Habitica community! Today we’re chatting with Blade, one of our Moderators and Blacksmiths. Blade is a major guiding hand on Github, overseeing pull requests and making sure Habitica’s foundation of bits and bytes is as strong as we can make it.

blade_contrib_promo

 

How did you get involved with Habitica?

I was scolded by my dentist for not flossing for the 4th or 5th time in a row. I decided I needed to make an app that would award me points for flossing, but it turns out that it already existed! I gladly joined and can say that since then my dentist has been very, very impressed.

What’s your proudest contribution to Habitica?

Strong-arming the dev team into focusing on test coverage whenever adding or changing features. [And we’re grateful for it! -Ed.]

What are your secret superpowers?

I can make my kid laugh just by looking at him.

What are your secret weaknesses?

Peanut butter based snacks. If you ever need to bribe me, now you know the currency.

What are your favorite Habitican pets/mounts?

Spooky Bear Cub and Red Octopus!

blade_contrib_petsmounts

What some things you’re tracking in Habitica?

* Flossing
* Reading the Lectionary every morning
* Getting to inbox 0 (never happens)

What do you like to do in your free time?

I’ve recently gotten into playing Magic the Gathering. Wait. [checks to see if there’s a Magic the Gathering guild] (there is) [joins]

What are your top Habitica tips and tricks?

1. Don’t be afraid to ask for help. The Habitica community is wonderful and always willing to lend a hand.
2. Start slowly. If you find that you consistently cannot complete your dailies, turn some of them off.
3. Tell your friends about Habitica and then start a Party with them. It’s more fun to work together!

Where do you like to hang out in Habitica?

Aspiring Blacksmiths and Aspiring Comrades.

scene_maintenance

Want to learn about some of the other contributors who make Habitica such a cool place? Check the Contributor Spotlight tag on our blog!

3 thoughts on “CONTRIBUTOR SPOTLIGHT: Blade!

  1. Dayani

    Hi Blade! My dentist always scolded me about flossing too lol. Now I’m determined to make it a habit. I found out about this program a few days ago, and I’m so glad I did. Once in a blue moon I’d think, “I’d be more motivated to get chores completed if they could be oriented like quests in an RPG”. Thanks for your contributions Blade 🙂

    Like

  2. Dayani

    Hi Blade! The dentist always got on my case about flossing too. I’m so glad I found this app. Occasionally I used to think to myself, “I wish I could orient my tasks similar to how an RPG does quests” lol. Thanks for your contributions Blade.

    Like

Leave a comment