Use Case Spotlight: Learning New Things!

StudyingHard2x
Illustration by OuttaMyMind

In last month’s Use Case Spotlight we featured some awesome suggestions from Habiticans about using the site and apps to improve your pet care routine. This month we enter Back to School season and look at some great tips, tricks, and ideas for using Habitica to set (and maintain!) new tasks and goals related to Learning New Things. These come from your fellow players in the Use Case Spotlights Guild!

CaptainJemima uses each type of task to make sure they’re always learning something new, as well as refreshing what they already know!

I have a Daily for using the website Khan Academy for 5 minutes every day. I’ve really enjoyed using the website for Math practice (it’s amazing how much you forget!) and also watching video lectures on Mental Health, which is a good support for the course I am studying to become a qualified counsellor. There are lots of other topics on there that I could look into so I feel like I can keep learning for a long time. I always use the To Do list to keep track of what I need to do in terms of studying/homework – it has become my first port of call for all the things I need to do! I like using the Checklist feature to break down each piece of work into steps, which really helps me not to feel daunted by what I have to do, and makes me feel proud and accomplished when I can tick off a step. Using the Due Date feature is invaluable, so I don’t have to keep referring to the calendar. I also have a Habit for fully reading an article or blog post, which in my eyes is a way of learning more about the world.

Drosera uses Challenges and To-Dos to set educational goals!

I found the challenges in the Graduate Student Guild really helpful. I had a daily for reading one educational article each day, plus habits for reading any extra ones, and a daily due every Friday to go through all of my article alerts for the week and see which ones I actually need to put in the “to-be-read” pile. I use To-Dos to mark my progression through course sections (particularly for Coursera courses), and I have a daily with a checklist that I update every evening with a list of priorities for the following day.

Dan O’Dea reminds us that practice and SMART goal-setting are important ways to make sure you learn effectively and that what you’ve learned really sticks!

For me the best thing in Habitica is scheduling practice time. Not just a simple habit or daily, but schedule a specific thing regarding the learning. An example for me is this: Decide what to do for drawing practice today, something to be done in 15-20 minutes, and do that thing before 5:00 PM. Use the SMART system for setting a goal: specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely.

There were so many helpful and exciting tips we couldn’t feature them all here! You can see them all and join in the discussion in the Use Case Spotlights Guild– one of your ideas could be featured next month! Look for an announcement of next month’s theme from Bailey soon.

Also, if you missed it you may want to take a look at our most recent Guild Spotlight, which showcases groups dedicated to Pet Care!

Leave a Reply

