Use Case Spotlight: Pet Care!

hatching_potions_by_leephon_2x
Illustration by Leephon

In last month’s Use Case Spotlight we learned all about different ways that folks in the community use Habitica to manage their outdoor hobbies. This month, we’re focusing on taking care of the animal friends in your life! Here are some great tips, tricks, and ideas for using Habitica to set (and maintain!) new tasks and goals related to Pet Care. These come from your fellow players in the Use Case Spotlights Guild!

Miechelle uses Dailies to keep up with the needs of their fine menagerie!

I have “Animals” under habits as well as a daily called “living creatures” which has all the tasks to do with my finches, cats and dog listed such as changing water and seed for the birdies, playing with canine and felines (I have rosters of games to rotate through), grooming someone every day, feeding, giving of vitamins, topping up treat toys. My creatures actually take up a good 2/3 hours a day and accordingly are a big part of my daily chore lists 🙂

Mavro Asteri adds Weeklies and Monthlies to their chore rotation to care for animal friends.

When I had an elderly dog (now gone), I used Habitica to remind me to administer her drugs twice a day. I also have 2 other dogs & 4 chickens, I use Habitica to remind me to give them food & fresh water 2x day. Now that they rolled out the weekly/monthly feature, I need to set up some chicken coop & chicken yard maintenance chores. And the dogs need a bath! Yep, now I gotta add these .

Sparky Lurkdragon uses checklists to maximize kitty care!

I have a little kitty cat and a bad case of executive dysfunction, so I have reminders to clean her litterbox and play with her daily. Both habits have a Morning and Evening checkbox. I give myself the play one if I play with her at least once a day (energy issues on my end), but the litterbox needs cleaning twice a day or I don’t get the big checkoff!

I also have a Monthly for deep-cleaning her litterbox, with a six-part checklist so I remember everything and don’t get lost:

  1. Run water in bucket
  2. Empty into medium trash bag
  3. Clean box + scoop [+ scoop because I always forget it otherwise!]
  4. Dry
  5. Broom [That is, clean up any stray litter that got kicked out over the month.]
  6. Refill

If I didn’t already have the habit solid when I re-joined Habitica, I would have ones for feeding her and changing her water. I do have a monthly for deep-cleaning her food and water bowls, though. (Usually they just get a good rinse and elbow grease daily.)

Geolojess makes sure their share of farm chores are taken care of with the help of Dailies.

I live on a farm, with 5 horses, 4 goats, 2 dogs, and lots of cats. My brother and I split up the chores, so that he takes care of them in the morning, and I take care of them at night! So, I have a daily that lists all the chores I need to do at night, such as feeding the cats/horses/dogs, putting the goats in their stall, etc!

There were so many helpful and exciting tips we couldn’t feature them all here! You can see them all and join in the discussion in the Use Case Spotlights Guild– one of your ideas could be featured next month! Look for an announcement of next month’s theme from Bailey soon.

Also, if you missed it you may want to take a look at our most recent Guild Spotlight, which showcases groups dedicated to Outdoor Hobbies!

One thought on “Use Case Spotlight: Pet Care!

  1. Pingback: For the Love of Animals: Guilds for Pet Care! – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

Leave a Reply

