Contributor Spotlight: Alys

alys_contrib_promo

Welcome to the Contributor Spotlight Series, where we interview amazing members of the Habitica community! Today we’re chatting with Alys, one of our Moderators and Blacksmiths! She helps with managing the community as well as smashing bugs and helping to implement new features!

Alys, how did you get involved with Habitica?

I came across the Kickstarter and it looked really interesting. I quickly realised that if I decided to stay with Habitica, I’d want to collect all the pets and gear so I paid into the Kickstarter at the level that let me get all the backer items. My best decision ever! 🙂 I loved the novel motivation and was impressed by the open approach to seeking help from the community.

What’s your proudest contribution to Habitica?

The change to cron that stopped it running prematurely when you went through daylight savings or changed timezones. It took me three tries to find a method that worked well, but when we finally went through a daylight savings change without widespread unfair damage, it was a great relief!

What are your secret superpowers?

I seem to be good at testing when I have time to really focus on it. I also have an amazing ability to make friends with Australian wildlife!

What are your secret weaknesses?

An inability to focus on the most important things and get them done first. Freezing with indecision when I have too much to do.

What are your favorite Habitican pets/mounts?

Such a difficult question! I like Cerberus, the three-headed dog from the Kickstarter campaign, of course. The owls are adorable. The baby mammoth is just the cutest thing ever! The egg basket mounts are gorgeous! How can you choose?

pets

What some things you’re tracking in Habitica?

My Dailies are all the things that really need to be done to stop my life getting out of control, like making sure the rubbish bins are taken out on the right days and that my inboxes are emptied each day (although that one is sadly red). My To-Dos are filled with things I want to do for Habitica but rarely get around to doing due to that secret weakness of mine.

What do you like to do in your free time?

Being out in nature, surrounded by trees, and watching wild animals and birds in my garden. At night, I love gazing up at the stars and imagining what it would be like if we could travel to other planets. I enjoy reading science fiction, although don’t make enough time for it, and I also have a fondness for P.G. Wodehouse, Rudyard Kipling, and historical fiction in general.

What are your top Habitica tips and tricks?

One thing I enjoy occasionally is using Fix Character Values to swap Health for Mana or Gold. When I have less Health, I’m more motivated to do my Dailies of course, and having extra Mana for attacking bosses or more Gold for buying gems and equipment is always useful. The wiki has a great page about being a Bloodmage or Berserker (such awesome names!) and other interesting ideas.

Where do you like to hang out in Habitica?

The Report a Bug Guild! I quite like how that Guild’s turned out; I think it works well. It’s another thing I’m proud of.

report_a_bug_Alys

Want to learn about some of the other contributors who make Habitica such a cool place? Check the Contributor Spotlight and Staff Spotlight tags on our blog!

2 thoughts on “Contributor Spotlight: Alys

  1. happy habitica anon

    I’ve never commented on the blog before, although I’ve read, but I had to say – Alys has taken time to help me before. A couple of times, actually. She was really patient and helpful. I really do appreciate it – she is a very amazing person.

    I had never read the “creating a unique experience page” or about subclasses before – thanks for talking about it and linking it. The whole “methodologies” subsection deserves pomedoro reading time – I learn something new every time I read the Habitica wiki, people have come up with really creative and fun ways to play.

    Like

Leave a Reply

