Use Case Spotlight: Arts and Crafts

arts_n_crafts
Illustration by WreckedByJesusDiaz

In last month’s Use Case Spotlight we learned all about different ways that folks in the community make time for Relaxing Hobbies. This month, we’re further exploring how Habiticans make time specifically for creative hobbies! Here are some great tips, tricks, and ideas for using Habitica to set (and maintain!) new tasks and goals related to Arts and Crafts. These come from your fellow players in the Use Case Spotlights Guild!

kaoru coati starts us off with a great way to remember great project ideas as you come up with them:

Whenever I get an idea for something to make I make a To-Do for it right away, including a checklist with whatever sub-steps that come to mind at the time. That way ideas don’t escape me, plus having the To-Dos there reminds me to make time for crafting (they are all grouped under a tag of course). I can always delete or edit a To-Do if I change my mind about a project.

NR Nazario uses To-Dos and Habits to create comics!

My entry into ART & CRAFTS is making Comics. I have use two methods in Habitica to do so. On the first method, I divide the seven discrete tasks of my process (Script – Sketch – Pencil – Ink – Color – Letter – Publish) into seven separate to-do items. This method emphasized PROCESS and the progress towards getting a published comic episode (which is what I called each page) The second method, emphasized the achievement of the final result rather than working towards it, was to have a large task named after the episode number (101, for example) and then a checklist containing the 7 subtasks inside. Outside of those options, I have a + habit for working on the comic for 1 pomodoro which can be checked for each pomodoro you work and a daily set to work on the comic for at least the first pomodoro.

 

Memry, the silver pirate uses Challenges to tie subscriber gems to projects as an extra incentive!!

I create challenges. I created a private guild, and there I create challenges for every major (and minor) project. [For] making Christmas ornaments I create a challenge that includes every step from selecting what type of ornament I want to make to the moment I distribute them to the family. I am a subscriber, so I tie all my gems up in my challenges. I can’t spend them until I earn them – by finishing things! Double bonus!

Mikachu posted an excellent discussion of their art process and how it’s managed through Tasks. An excerpt is given here, but if you’d like to read the full post, head over to the Use Case Spotlights Guild and find it in the chat!

As a self-employed artist, using Habitica to track my art tasks is essential to my daily productivity and ultimately the success of my career. …[One] To-Do I’m actively pursuing is actually a set of twelve, one for each month, and is not only a part of my career pursuits, it’s my 2017 New Year’s Goal. My goal is to create a new, complete, and properly-done illustration every month. To help me accomplish this, I created a To-Do for each month simply titled “[Month] Illustration” and gave them due dates that correspond to the last day of the named month. To keep myself from spending too much time in this planning stage (as opposed to creating the works) I have only created lists for the To-Dos as each month has arrived.

There were so many helpful and exciting tips we couldn’t feature them all here! You can see them all and join in the discussion in the Use Case Spotlights Guild– one of your ideas could be featured next month! Look for an announcement of next month’s theme from Bailey soon.
Also, if you missed it you may want to take a look at our most recent Guild Spotlight, which showcases groups dedicated to Relaxing Hobbies- some of the featured groups offer discussions and Challenges you may find helpful as you work on finding time for fun and relaxing activities in your life.

2 thoughts on “Use Case Spotlight: Arts and Crafts

  1. Pingback: Spaces for the Creative: Guilds for Arts and Crafts! – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

Leave a Reply

