Contributor Spotlight: Dewines

promo_contribspotlight_dewines

Welcome to the Contributor Spotlight Series, where we interview amazing members of the Habitica community! Today we’re chatting with Dewines, one of our Moderators and the leader and creator of several fabulous Guilds! She helps manage the community and keep Habitica safe and happy.

Dewines, how did you get involved with Habitica?

It was all because of the April Fool’s joke in 2014 when all the avatars were turned into fruits and vegetables. Jim Hines mentioned this on his blog, and after reading his post about Habitica, it looked like such a cool idea that I went to sign up to see what it was all about. It turned out to be exactly what I’d been looking for to motivate me to actually do stuff, and more than two years later, I’m still here.

What’s your proudest contribution to Habitica?

Probably the Guilds I created. I still run some of them but I’ve also handed others over to new leaders. One of these was the Guild Leaders & Challenge Creators Guild, where people help one another by sharing good ideas related to keeping their Guilds active. Of the Guilds I created and still run, I’m probably most proud of the Long-Term Accountability Guild. This helps people plan long-term goals and also encourages them to monitor their progress. It’s easy to let goals slide if you don’t keep an eye on them. Finally, there’s the quirky Haiku Guild where everyone posts about what they’ve been doing in the form of haiku. I created it almost as a joke, but it’s turned out to be surprisingly popular.

What are your secret superpowers?

Being able to make a tasty soup out of random wrinkled vegetables found lurking in the fridge.

What are your secret weaknesses?

It’s not really so secret, but procrastination is my main weakness. Tasks and projects always take much longer than they should because I put off starting. If there’s an external deadline, I’m always finishing things in a panic at the last minute.

What are your favorite Habitican pets/mounts?

I do love many of the new quest pets, especially the owl pets and the horse mounts. However, I think my favourites are the original fox pets.

dewines_pets_mounts

 

What some things you’re tracking in Habitica?

As well as mundane things like doing the laundry and washing dishes, I’m tracking the hours I spend learning Welsh and using Dailies to make sure I get some exercise each day.

What do you like to do in your free time?

Knitting and crocheting, going for walks, writing and photography.

What are your top Habitica tips and tricks?

It’s important to keep assessing your Habitica tasks to make sure they are still motivating you. My set up now is nothing like what it was when I started two and half years ago. I don’t mean you should be switching tasks round every day, but every few weeks, if you have a daily that you just aren’t doing, you need to ask yourself why that is. Would it be better as a Habit or a To-Do? Also, don’t be overambitious. Start with a few tasks and then build on success. Finally, Habitica is brilliant for finding people who will support you. There are hundreds of Guilds on all kinds of topics and it’s very likely there’s one where you’ll find people with similar goals.

Where do you like to hang out in Habitica?

I’m in quite a lot of guilds but a couple of my favourites are the Long-term Goal Accountability Guild and Venture Outside Your Lair. I founded both of these because I wanted some way of keeping track of long-term goals and I also have a terrible habit of sitting indoors all day working on the computer or trying to read the entire internet. I’m also very fond of the Short-Term Goal Accountability Guild, known affectionately as STAG.

dewines_guildleaders_promo
Want to learn about some of the other contributors who make Habitica such a cool place? Check the Contributor Spotlight and Staff Spotlight tags on our blog!

Leave a Reply

