Behind the Scenes: Apps We Use

phone_peek_JessicaChase_2x
Illustration by JessicaChase

 

The “Behind The Scenes” series is a chance for us to give you a glimpse into the inner workings of HabitRPG, Inc., the company that makes Habitica. Every so often, we’ll treat you to some silly staff shenanigans or show you the work that goes into your favorite features. Enjoy!

As you might guess, the Habitica Staff puts the Habitica app at the top of the list when we think of our favorite and most-used apps, but today we thought we’d share some of the other apps we use. Some are other productivity tools, some are educational, and some are just fun! We hope you enjoy our list, and that it helps you discover some new and helpful apps for your own use!

staff_updatedFeb2017

Beth, AKA Beffymaroo:  “I have a lot of fairly mainstream apps on my phone for the most part, but a surprisingly useful one I have that’s not as common is Luna Solaria (Android, iOS; free) It has info on the Sun and Moon’s rotational and orbital (in the case of the Moon) cycles relative to the Earth- so when someone looks up and says, ‘Oh hey, is that a full Moon?’ I can easily confirm or deny. Also handy for finding exact sunset/sunrise times! :)”

Phillip, AKA viirus: PCalc (iOS; $6.99). Because next to being a calculator, it’s also super handy for unit conversion and you can fully customize the UI to contain the features you want with one tap.”

Vicky, AKA redphoenix: “Brain.fm (Web, iOS; 7 sessions free, then subscription)  counteracts noisy working environments. There’s one track that makes me nauseous and their ‘classical music’ option is distracting because my brain keeps trying to break down it into the harpsichord part and other components, but otherwise it’s been very effective for kicking off a hard focus session when it’s not possible to get a completely distraction-free environment. Also, their sleep tracks have been effective in helping me get to sleep in strange new places.”

Leslie, AKA Lemoness: “My favorite non-Habitica app on my phone is Overdrive (iOS, Android, Mac, Windows, Kindle; free)! My work schedule is tight, so I’ve come to rely on audiobooks to fill my life with stories even when I don’t have time to curl up with a novel. Overdrive lets me check out audiobooks from my local library and download them on to my phone with a single tap. (If your own local library doesn’t use Overdrive, they may still use a similar app, so be sure to ask them.) Nothing’s better than listening to epic battle sequences while I prep Habitica’s pixel art! I can’t recommend it highly enough.”

Sabe, AKA SabreCat: Sleep as Android  (Android; free) is my alarm clock of choice. It provides soothing sounds to help me go to sleep, and when it’s time to get up, I have to get all the way downstairs to the office and scan a QR code on the wall to silence the alarm!”

Matteo, AKA Paglias:  “Lately I’ve decided to get serious about tracking my expenses and after a long search I’ve settled on Wallet (Android, iOS; free). It’s a spending tracker with tons of features like budgets, recurring expenses and so on, but what I like the most is that despite all the features it’s very easy and quick to use. It would be great to integrate it with Habitica if they introduce an API one day.”

Keith, AKA TheHollidayInn: “Duolingo (iOS, Android, Windows Phone; free) is an app that is in my daily routine – as a Habitica daily, of course. While I spend all day speaking to computers, it is nice to learn human languages as well 🙂 ”

We hope we’ve given you some ideas for more apps that can help you in the goals you’re using Habitica to reach (or are just plain fun!)! See you next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

