Contributor Spotlight: shanaqui

shanaqui_contrib_promo2

Welcome to the Contributor Spotlight Series, where we interview amazing members of the Habitica community! Today we’re chatting with shanaqui, one of our Moderators and Challengers. They help manage the community and keep Habitica safe and happy, and run lots of  exciting Challenges including Super Socialite and New Years Countdown!

shanaqui, How did you get involved with Habitica?

I think I just wandered into the Tavern one day, learned about socialite tiers, and decided to use my all-too-abundant spare time for something positive. I have less free time now, but I’m self-employed, so it’s easy to drop in.

What’s your proudest contribution to Habitica?

I’m pretty proud of the New Year Countdown challenges. It was just a passing idea to spread some gems around at the end of 2015, and then suddenly loads of people were participating and even donating gems for prizes; I was getting tons of messages from people who loved it; and incidentally some of the tasks benefitted charities or encouraged people to do positive actions in their communities. I started saving up gems to run it again as soon as we got to September!

What are your secret superpowers?

I can type at 100wpm, allowing me to ninja Alys. That’s a superpower, right?

What are your secret weaknesses?

I tend to resort to passive-aggressiveness and have to work really hard to keep a lid on it. Oh, you said secret… well, I’m actually not a very organised person. I like making lists more than I like sticking to them.

What are your favorite Habitican pets/mounts?

Pet-wise, hedgehogs! Mounts, I have an enormous fondness for the dragons; the first thing I hatch after using Keys to the Kennels is a red dragon, so I can dress my avatar up like the Welsh flag ready for game days. I also have high hopes for the upcoming hippos. But for now, hedgehogs and dragons reign supreme.

shanaqui_contrib_petsmounts

What some things you’re tracking in Habitica?

Books! I have habits not to buy books impulsively, a to-do for reading a set list of books per month, a daily for making time to read no matter how busy I am, a daily for writing reviews for my blog… These will probably surprise nobody. Also, from necessity, my class schedule: it’s an intense diet of cell biology, human biology, evolutionary biology and neuroscience, this year, which is exciting but takes a lot of planning and scheduling.

What do you like to do in your free time?

Read! I know, it’s a shock. Also crochet, gaming, sometimes writing, and when the weather is cool, walking. I like to do a lot of learning in addition to my actual BSc, so I practise my languages and play chess problems.

What are your top Habitica tips and tricks?

If you’re feeling a lot of resistance to doing a Daily, it’s a good idea to reconsider it — whether that means changing the difficulty, only doing it on alternate days, or dropping it entirely. It’s a sign that it’s not working for you, not aligning with your goals or just not that important to your life right now, even if it’s something you feel that you should like.

Where do you like to hang out in Habitica?

I’m nearly always in the Tavern, but I also love the Legendary Book Club guild and the Short Term Goal Accountability guild. Rare is the day I don’t check into those guilds, and the support from other members of the STGA guild is probably one of the reasons I’ve had so much success with Habitica.

shanaqui_legendarybookclub
Want to learn about some of the other contributors who make Habitica such a cool place? Check the Contributor Spotlight and Staff Spotlight tags on our blog!

4 thoughts on “Contributor Spotlight: shanaqui

  1. ❤ Shanaqui is FABULOUS! I remember her from LJ days, back over a decade ago, and she's always been amazing. And I say this as a fellow book nerd/editor who blows most people out of the water on reading speed: Her reading speed=Astonishing even to me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *waves* You can find me around Habitica in the Tavern and the guilds I mentioned! Also on Twitter and on my blog (breathesbooks.com). Much reading still occurring!

      But my preferred pronoun is ‘they’, nowadays, fyi. 🙂

      Like

  2. Kyle

    I’m trying to read books myself. I made it a daily to read a chapter a day but to take time to do it is so difficult. I tend to get sleepy when I start reading, and I have lost a lot of health because of it. So I decided to remove it as a daily and put it as a “to do” and as a “positive habit.” Sometimes you have to be honest with yourself to know how much can you REALLY do. Good article!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

