Use Case Spotlight: Food and Cooking

cooking_06_by_kussv2x
Illustration by KusSv

As we continue into 2017, it’s a great idea to continue evaluating your health goals for this year as well as setting new ones. Here are some great tips, tricks, and ideas for using Habitica to set (and maintain!) new tasks and goals related to Food and Cooking. These come from your fellow players in the Use Case Spotlights Guild!

Mari offers some great ideas for setting up Food and Cooking-related Tasks!

I have a variety of general and specific Habits, Dailies, and To Do’s. Habits: Eat Junk Food (-) and Eat 1 Healthy Meal (+ or -). Dailies include Pack Healthy Lunch and Track 1 Thing each day, and then weekly Plan Meals and Prep Healthy Food/Meals. To Do’s vary and may be Try New Food/Recipe, Farmer’s Market, or Freezer Seal special veggies or soup so I have it readily on hand. Habitica helps keep me organized, motivated, and on track which makes eating more healthfully much easier!

SpawnofElvis has some Habits and Dailies to help encourage cooking:

Last year I was trying to cook more regularly, and made ‘cook a meal’ a daily item. It worked really well. This year I want to go 100% vegetarian, and I have come up with a habit: choose the vegetarian option, and a daily: eat fresh veggies. I just joined the Vegetarians and Vegans guild to help with my resolution to go all the way. In the past, learning to make Indian and Japanese dishes has helped encourage me to cook vegetarian more often at home. It’s restaurants that are the hard part for me

StormyScribe is combating food waste in a big way!

I keep track of the perishables in my fridge and pantry with a check list in a to-do called “Use it or lose it.” I also keep a Meal Plan to-do where I can slot in leftovers to make sure they don’t go bad. Finally, I have a – habit I click when something goes bad. This system has really helped me cut out food waste (and cut the grocery bills….).

Dan O’Dea uses To-Do’s to explore new culinary horizons:

I’ve always used Habitica to-dos for grocery lists – now I’m also using it to make at least one “new” food per week. I have piles of cookbooks of all sorts, but it’s easy to get into a rut (e.g., Meatloaf Monday) or just wing it (a casserole today). I want to make eating more interesting, and also involve my wife more (she’s not a cook), which is important as both our children are away at college, so there’s an added benefit to that.

There were so many helpful and exciting tips we couldn’t feature them all here! You can see them all and join in the discussion in the Use Case Spotlights Guild– one of your ideas could be featured next month! Look for an announcement of next month’s theme from Bailey soon.

Also, if you missed it you may want to take a look at our most recent Guild Spotlight, which showcases groups dedicated to Health and Fitness- another important aspect of your well-being. These Guilds can give you more ideas and some even have themed Challenges to help you pursue healthy goals!

2 thoughts on “Use Case Spotlight: Food and Cooking

  1. gustavowoltmann101

    Such a great tips and information. This is very useful to everyone especially to those people that always worried for their budget every week.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Keeping it Delicious and Nutritious: Guilds for Food and Cooking – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

Leave a Reply

