STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Phillip AKA viirus

Welcome to the Staff Spotlight Series, where we interview members of the Habitica Team! Today we’re chatting with Phillip, also known as viirus. Phillip lives in Germany and is the chief developer of the Habitica iOS and Android apps. It’s thanks to his hard work that we can access Habitica on the go! 

PhillipStaffSpotlight2
Phillip, what’s your proudest contribution to Habitica?

“That would be the Habitica iOS app. It’s the first iOS app I wrote that actually got finished and released. Even though I’m still not entirely satisfied with it, I’m super proud of how it’s turned out so far.”

What are your secret superpowers?

“A few people have called me a cat whisperer, because on several occasions cats that normally hate new people got very attatched to me in short periods of time. As for more work-related superpowers, I learn and adapt new technologies and systems pretty fast.”

What are your secret weaknesses?

“I’m really bad at knowing when I have to take a break and relax before it is too late. Also, relaxing itself is pretty hard for me, when I keep thinking of how much more I could get done!”

Favorite Habitican pets/mounts:

“Any color variation of the panda pet. They all look like they would be good to cuddle!”

panda promo

What some things you’re tracking in Habitica?

“I mostly use Habitica to track my day-to-day tasks, like eating at regular times or cleaning.”

How do you use Custom Rewards?

“I dislike the idea of not being allowed to treat myself to something when I need it, just because I haven’t done enough work to earn it yet, so I don’t actually use any custom rewards. But rumor has it that I do allow myself to buy bigger Lego sets only after finishing big tasks.”

Do you have a daily routine/ritual?

“I try to, but I’m too disorganized. I really want to structure my day better and keep regular hours for sleeping, eating and work, but I am not there yet. I hope that with the help of some new Dailies, I will be able to change that soon.”

How do you spend your time when you’re not working on Habitica?

“The few times I manage to break away from work, I usually play video games (recently a lot of No Man’s Sky), binge watch TV shows, and occasionally tinker with electronics projects. Building Legos is also something that really relaxes me. When my growing collection recently tried to take over my workspace, I had to dissemble some, which means I will have to build them again. Twice the fun!”

Top Habitica tips and tricks?

“This might a very basic tip, but it’s really valuable: don’t add too many Dailies and don’t have too many of them active on any given day. It’s easy to end up overwhelmed and then miss important ones.”

Favorite Habitica anecdote?

PhillipWithPhone

“Back when I started working on the iOS app, it was originally meant as a side project to practice building iOS apps. I only started it because I grew frustrated with the old HabitRPG  app. After working on it on-and-off for about a year, I got a message asking me if I was interested in open-sourcing it as the new official Habitica app, and I eventually started working as a contractor. After a few months, I left my old job and started working for Habitica full time.”

Want to learn more about the people who make Habitica? Check out our other posts in this series:
Spotlight on Vicky AKA Redphoenix
Spotlight on Leslie AKA Lemoness
Spotlight on Sabe AKA SabreCat

Spotlight on Matteo AKA Paglias

2 thoughts on “STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Phillip AKA viirus

Leave a Reply

