STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Matteo AKA paglias

 

StaffSpotlightMatteo

Welcome to the Staff Spotlight Series, where we interview members of the Habitica Team! Today we’re chatting with Matteo, also known as paglias. Matteo lives in Italy and is one of our most avid programmers. He manages many of Habitica’s coding projects, and also helps coordinate the volunteer translations for Habitica.

Matteo, what’s your proudest contribution to Habitica?
“It took a long time to build, but the thing that I’m proudest of is definitely version 3 of the API, in particular because it involved great teamwork with the entire Habitica staff and a lot of our Open Source contributors.”

What are your secret superpowers?
“If I start working on something I’m passionate about, it’s very likely I’ll try to finish it the same day, even if it means going to sleep at 4 in the morning. Hmmm… Thinking about it I’m not sure if it can be considered a superpower, but occasionally it can be very useful :)”

What are your secret weaknesses?
“If a deadline is too far away or if I’m not interested by what I’m doing, I can get distracted by literally everything and I can become a terrible procrastinator.”

Favorite Habitican pets/mounts:
“I’ve had the Base Wolf and Tiger as my avatar’s pet and mount companions since the early days and I think they’re here to stay. I can’t imagine my avatar without them!”

NPC Matteo and pets

What some things you’re tracking in Habitica?
“There are some Dailies that have been in my list forever, like getting at least 8 hours of sleep – still working on it!  I also tend to have tasks for every project I’m working on currently. I try not to have more than 5-6 Dailies that I absolutely have to do every day.”

How do you use Custom Rewards?
“I don’t know why, but I never picked up using Custom Rewards, which also explains why I have a ton of gold in my account… I have to give them another shot :)”

Do you have a daily routine/ritual?
“Not really, because I’m not a morning person. Thankfully most mornings I have to wake up and go to university, or I would lay in bed for way too long! I prefer to work until late in the night when there are fewer things that can distract me. It also makes it much easier to communicate with the rest of the Habitica team, since there are 9 hours of difference between Italy – where I live – and the Habitica HQ in Los Angeles.”

How do you spend your time when you’re not working on Habitica?
“I’m studying to get my degree, so that takes up a big part of my day. Otherwise, you can find me reading about random stuff on the internet or playing with my dog.”

Top Habitica tips and tricks?
“I’ve found that when I have too many tasks, it’s easy to start skipping some of them, even if they’re super important for my day. So I try not to overload my lists, instead keeping a clear separation between Must-Dos and tasks that would be nice to do, but not essential. Using a different difficulty level for each task is fundamental for this.”

Favorite Habitica anecdote?

Line of food drops
“One of my first important contributions to Habitica’s code (back when it was still called HabitRPG) was expanding the translated content on the site. When we introduced translated messages for drops, there was a bug that caused the name of eggs, potions and food to be displayed in the wrong language, so people started getting messages like ‘You’ve found a Kartoffel!’ with Kartoffel being the German word for ‘potato.’

It took a few days to find the cause and fix the problem, and in the meantime some users thought that Habitica had embarked on a mission to teach everyone a new language!”

 

Want to learn more about the people who make Habitica? Check out our other posts in this series:
Spotlight on Vicky AKA Redphoenix
Spotlight on Leslie AKA Lemoness
Spotlight on Sabe AKA SabreCat

One thought on “STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Matteo AKA paglias

  1. Pingback: BEHIND THE SCENES: Habitica Roadtrip! – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

Leave a Reply

