STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Vicky AKA Redphoenix

 

StaffSpotlightVicky

Welcome to the Staff Spotlight Series, where we interview members of the Habitica Team! Today we’re chatting with Vicky, also known as Redphoenix. Vicky is one of our co-founders, and she handles our business and legal needs, as well as helping to manage the team.

Vicky, what’s your proudest contribution to Habitica?

“My proudest contribution is to the financial stability of Habitica, where we can now support several full-time staff members and contractors who can keep bringing you more and better features!”

What are your secret superpowers?

“Poaching eggs perfectly, remembering random details about interesting people I meet, even if it’s a single meeting going back decades, and making the most of limited resources.”

What are your secret weaknesses?

“Overestimating how much work I can get done on too little sleep. I can also be completely derailed by good fiction and have been known to inhale even doorstopper-sized fantasy novels in a single sitting. As a result, I try REALLY REALLY HARD not to start reading one during the workweek. I once lost several working days to Harry Potter fanfiction. (This was before Habitica, of course.)”

Favorite Habitican pets/mounts:

“First chance I get, I always hatch the skeleton pets. The skeleton cactus pet was an early favorite, but I really just want to cuddle skeleton penguin and tell it that everything will be ok.”

SkeletonPets

What some things you’re tracking in Habitica?

“Everything. Too many things. Basically I want to use Habitica to become Batman.

I should probably use my tagging system more than I do, but frequently it’s more interesting to think about organizing it all than to actually organize it. I guess I’ll go add a + Habit for properly tagging my tasks now….”

How do you use Custom Rewards?

“One of the things I’m working on improving is spending money on things that I would enjoy. I get major guilt whenever I spend money on non-necessaries, courtesy of having grown up without much spare cash for luxuries. To help assuage the guilt, the total amount of Gold becomes a measure of how much I’ve accomplished, and I set an exchange rate of 100 gold = $1.”

Do you have a daily routine/ritual?

“If I’m being good, mornings basically go: check staff chat, check Twitter shortlist, meditate, make the bed + get dressed, coffee, figure out what I need to accomplish for the day.

In the evenings, I’m trying to train myself to go to bed earlier by playing a bedtime playlist to help ease the transition from after dinner to bed. Depending on my energy levels and how much calming down I need, it’s either jazz, new age, or nature sounds. I know it’s time to go to sleep when even the lowest sound setting is too loud for me.”

How do you spend your time when you’re not working on Habitica?

“It’s hard to break away because there’s so much to do! Usually, though, you can either find me at a public library, at a thrift store, or snuggling the dog. Or sleeping. Sometimes (most of the time if it’s a weekend) I just give in to the urge to nap….”

Top Habitica tips and tricks?

“Occasionally I’ll get into the zone and binge-perform a particular activity (and let go of everything else). Habitica’s dailies system and the damage from not doing so is a good reminder that balance and moderation are good things to aspire to, but sometimes it’s more productive and interesting to ride the wave and keep on the same project. I usually keep a to do item under a :bank: emoji tag, so if I’ve done extra of something (like instead of 20 minutes of cleaning, I’ve managed an hour and a half!) I “bank” it so that I allow myself to check it off on a different day when I maybe don’t quite have the energy to clean.

Also, tagging with emoji. Makes the checklist extremely interesting and also more compact.”

Favorite Habitica anecdote?

Vicky and Leslie in Tavern

“Habitica co-founder Leslie and I were at one point living less than three miles away from each other, but didn’t actually manage to meet in person until the following year, some 500 miles from home in a completely different city. When we finally sat down, we discovered that we shared the exact astrological sign–Aries on the cusp of Pisces–and that’s when we found out that we have the same birthday: March 22!”

Want to learn more about the people who make Habitica? Check out our other posts in this series:
Spotlight on Leslie AKA Lemoness

Spotlight on Sabe AKA SabreCat

Spotlight on Matteo AKA paglias

5 thoughts on “STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Vicky AKA Redphoenix

  1. Pingback: STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Leslie AKA Lemoness – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

  2. Pingback: STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Sabe AKA SabreCat – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

  3. Pingback: BEHIND THE SCENES: Habitica Roadtrip! – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

Leave a Reply

