STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Leslie AKA Lemoness

Staff Spotlight Lemoness copy

Welcome to the Staff Spotlight Series, where we interview members of the Habitica Team! Today we’re chatting with Leslie, also known as Lemoness. Leslie is one of our co-founders, and she works on designing and planning upcoming features, running social media and marketing, managing the community, creating pixel art, and more.

Leslie, what’s your proudest contribution to Habitica?

“Hm, that’s a tough choice. Probably the Seasonal Events! The first Halloween mini-event in 2013 was something I threw together on a whim because I wanted monster skins, but the excitement was so overwhelming that I’ve plotted larger festivities ever since, including new outfits, location reveals, and World Bosses.

I’m also super proud of how kind, welcoming, and creative the Habitica community has become, but I can’t take credit for that! I’m just lucky to know you all.”

What are your secret superpowers?

“Switching easily between projects and eating staggering amounts of cheddar.”

What are your secret weaknesses?

“I have a -5 weakness against cold, a -5 weakness against mornings, and a -10 weakness against grey weather. On cold mornings with grey weather, I convert into a small, distressed slug, who needs tea and virtual rewards to coax her out of her cozy bed.”

Favorite Habitican pets/mounts:

“Foxes, Cuttlefishes, and Snails! The Snail Mounts are particularly pleasant.”

Snail Pet Promo copy

What some things you’re tracking in Habitica?

“Er…. everything? Mostly keeping on top of my daily work tasks and long-term work projects, as well all those onerous but necessary activities like exercising and going to bed.”

How do you use Custom Rewards?

“I use Custom Rewards to let me know when I’ve earned a break! If I want to spend a weekend relaxing in the Habitica Inn, I have to work very hard to earn enough gold first.”

Do you have a daily routine/ritual?

“Awake and shake my fist at the sounding alarm, then stagger out of bed in search of tea and sunlight. Eat breakfast while working for a few minutes on a creative project, which is a fun way to trick my brain into charging up and thinking critically. Quickly catch up on everything that happened in Habitica overnight and make sure nothing is on fire, then leap into big work tasks for the day! (Unless, of course, something IS on fire, in which case there is a lot of frantic typing and a lot of extra tea.)

My work schedule tends to vary heavily depending on each day’s meetings, important projects, etc. Still, I usually work in timed bursts of thirty minutes to an hour, and take short breaks in-between by doing a couple of exercises, a few minutes of chores, or a bit of a craft project. That way I’m not burning out, but every break is productive.”

How do you spend your time when you’re not working on Habitica?

“I enjoy writing and reading, especially YA and fantasy. I also love crafting! On the weekends I hang out with friends, play games, watch comedies or cartoons, and go hiking.”

Top Habitica tips and tricks?

“When setting up a new routine, be sure to build in moments of evaluation. If a set of Dailies or Custom Rewards aren’t working for you, don’t berate yourself for failing; instead, ask yourself why you failed. What can you learn and adjust for the next time? Can you add in extra encouragement, or make your goals more achievable and gradually scale up the difficulty? There’s no shame in frequently adjusting your set-up to make sure that you’re getting the most out of it.”

Favorite Habitica anecdote?

Painting Matt

“For the first couple of years, Matt the Beast Master had blond hair in-game. Imagine my confusion one autumn when I ran into Matt Boch, the real-life Kickstarter backer, at a games party… and discovered that his hair was actually dark brown. Whoops! Apparently the picture we’d used as a reference for his NPC sprite had been misleading. To make amends, I turned Matt the Beast Master into a werewolf that Halloween, and his hair stayed brown when he transformed back.”

Want to learn more about the people who make Habitica? Check out our other posts in this series:

Spotlight on Sabe AKA SabreCat

Spotlight on Matteo AKA paglias

Spotlight on Vicky AKA Redphoenix

11 thoughts on “STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Leslie AKA Lemoness

    1. S Leslie

      HAH, I also follow Susan Dennard’s newsletter! You better believe that when she mentioned Habitica I shrieked with glee and danced around the room.

      Like

  1. dancingcrane

    Lemoness, you’re in my prayers always for helping to create Habitica! It’s made an incredible impact in my and my youngest sons lives. I have a lot to do as a mom of 5, four still at home, and overwhelm and its minion procrastination have been my bane. I used to use writing (also YA and fantasy) as stress relief, back when I was taking care of an extended household of 14 (incl. 9 kids), but it started becoming another task. So I went looking for a real task manager, and finally last month found Habitica! Can’t thank you enough.

    Like

    1. S Leslie

      Wow, thanks so much! It sounds like you are balancing an astounding amount of things, so I’m happy Habitica could help 🙂 Good luck with all your tasks, and I’m wishing the best for you and your family!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Vicky AKA Redphoenix – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

  3. Pingback: STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Sabe AKA SabreCat – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

  4. Pingback: Using Habitica for Business to Change Habits

  5. Pingback: BEHIND THE SCENES: Habitica Roadtrip! – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

  6. Pingback: BEHIND THE SCENES: Seasonal Events! – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

Leave a Reply

