STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Sabe AKA SabreCat

SABEnewStaffPromo


Welcome to the Staff Spotlight Series, where we interview members of the Habitica Team! Today we’re chatting with Sabe, also known as SabreCat. Sabe is one of our main developers, and he does a lot of coding for the site, including monthly quests, bug fixes, and architecture improvements.


Sabe, what’s your proudest contribution to Habitica?

“The Orb of Rebirth. It was my first major new feature, and has extended Habitica’s longevity for many people, self included!”

What is your secret superpower?

“Turning people into giant robots to help them seek enlightenment.”


What is your secret weakness?

“My coffee intake must be carefully tuned. One cup gets me moving. Two cups and I get the shakes bad enough to make it difficult to use a pen or phone!”

Favorite Habitican pets/mounts:

“Tigers and cacti, of the base set. All the Magic Potion critters are gorgeous. T-rexes. Red rocks. And eggs / egg baskets!”

 

Easter_Eggs

What some things you’re tracking in Habitica?

Get the admin@habitica.com inbox to zero (Daily). Read a chapter or 15 pages of a book (Habit). Don’t use any electronics in bed (Daily). Scoop a litter box (Habit).”

How do you use Custom Rewards?

“I use custom Rewards to slow me down on indulging particular timewasters and distractions. It costs me 2 Gold to check my personal email, Facebook, or Twitter. It also costs me 5 Gold to play a match in Magic Duels, the computer game I’m most preoccupied with right now. Those values are tuned to my current Gold generation pace such that I can do them a little bit without much trouble, but I won’t be able to collect my subscriber Gems if I buy them too often!”

Do you have a daily routine/ritual?

“I have a set of regular morning tasks that I’ve collapsed into a daily ‘morning routine’ checklist: take meds, eat breakfast, brush teeth, etc. It’s not ritualized as such, but that’s a good idea!”

How do you spend your time when you’re not working on Habitica?

Writing for my blog. Playing tabletop roleplaying games, like Dungeon World and Chuubo’s Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine. Hanging out with my wife and our pets.

Top Habitica tips and tricks?
“Use Perfect Days as a measure of how many Dailies to maintain. I find the Perfect Day bonus most motivating when I have to push myself to attain it and thus only achieve it once or twice a week. When I start scoring three and four back-to-back Perfect Days, it’s time to add more Dailies to improve myself further! Likewise, if I go a couple of weeks without any Perfect Days, I take a look at what tasks I might not be ready to do on a daily basis and move them to Habits.
Also, have a long-term project you’re procrastinating on? Add a Daily for it: ‘More than Zero: [project].’ Check it off if you move the project forward in some concrete way, however small. It adds up!”

Favorite Habitica anecdote?

SABEhatching_potions_by_leephon

 “As of this writing, my contributor credit in the Hall of Heroes is ‘Kibbled the drop system.’ I was tuning the different bonuses that go into your chance of getting an egg, potion, or food, and one version of the algorithm that went live was far too stingy. The usual slang for making something less effective in a game is ‘nerf,’ but deilann felt the occasion needed a term more expressive of my cat-ness. Thus ‘kibbled’: turned a game system into crunchy meat bits that you’d feed to a pet. Whoops!”

Want to learn more about the people who make Habitica?

Check out our other posts in this series:

Spotlight on Vicky AKA Redphoenix

Spotlight on Matteo AKA paglias
Spotlight on Leslie AKA Lemoness

6 thoughts on “STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Sabe AKA SabreCat

  1. Pingback: STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Vicky AKA Redphoenix – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

  2. Pingback: STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Leslie AKA Lemoness – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

  3. Pingback: BEHIND THE SCENES: Habitica Roadtrip! – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

  4. Pingback: BEHIND THE SCENES: Seasonal Events! – get organized. stay motivated. have fun.

Leave a Reply

